Y chromosome J quick reference page

My blogging lately has been slowed down by my MS flaring up and my boy discovering Lego Indiana Jones online – my  apologies to anyone I haven’t responded to in the comments.

A basic page for reference on J1 and J2 so I don’t have to root through multiple papers and blog entries every time I want to find something.

This is a homemade table and mainly from Cruciani’s 2004 figures and Hassan 2008  for a one-glace overview . The Egyptian figures are my own from several combined sources and are about as accurate as you’ll get for that country. The other countries are from single paper sources and probably aren’t as accurate overall, but it’s a decent rough guide.

j-table1

The actual Cruciani table, another chart (can’t remember which paper).

cruciani's 2004 J tables jfreq

From Giacomo 2004 and Battaglia 2008

jneo2 jneo

 

greekj  cintj  etj

Greece, From Martinez 2007. Turkey; Cinnioglu 2003 and  Semino 2002.

jiran  mulj  omegar

Iran, from Cadenas 2006, from Al-Zahery 2002 and Luis 2004

From Giacomo 2004

 

jdist

While not the neatest page, it should be useful for quicker referencing. A good look through the J hg’s around the near East has reinforced a Neolithic or older entry date for the J2 in North Africa as far as I’m concerned, as the ratio of J2 to J1/other hg’s is incompatible with it having a historical arrival from any of the known invading areas. I’m also wondering if upper Egypt is the switch over  area from Arab J1 to Capsian J1.

Reference list.

If anyone else finds a Y chromosome J reference for the near East, Europe, North Africa or India/Pakistan that I haven’t included leave the name of the paper ( I expect there’s a few) in the comments, as I’ll be adding to this one as I go along. Also a decent recent tree of J would be nice – if anyone find one send me a link!

5 responses to “Y chromosome J quick reference page

  1. Matilda,

    I’m sorry to learn that you have MS!

    I just wanted to say that maybe the reason you don’t have any comments on this post isn’t that people aren’t reading. This post looks so impressive, and I’m one of your regular readers. But as a layperson, I’m afraid it’s far, far beyond me!

    Best regards,
    Expat 21 (in North Africa)

    • Thanks expat. Its mainly for my own reference anyway- I got fed up rooting through multiple papers and posts every time I was looking for something J related.

  2. Nice work. I often wonder why a national state like Italy is divided up into regions: Sardinia, Sicily, mainland Italy. Great Britain is England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland but its parts have some form of “home rule”. I think that Italy should be considered one land. Italians from Sicily and Sardinia can and do move to mainland Italy and vica versa just as people from the Irish Republic seem to make Britain their home.

  3. Ponto,

    Sorry to quibble, but Northern Ireland is part of the UK, not Great Britain.

    People from the West of Ireland, all the way to the East Baltic are very similar. This is far from the case in Italy, where Northern, Central (Tuscany especially), Southern (including Sicily), are much more variable, and reflect their different population histories and geneflow. Whereas Sardinia it a genetic isolate, due to millenia of inbreeding.

    Also, you need to update your preconceptions – the flow of immigrants has been Britain to Ireland for the last 20 years or so. My uncle owns a large civil engineering business, and over the last 2 decades has had to import hundreds of construction workers to fill jobs the Irish no longer are willing to do, but the English willing will do – as the pay is much higher than in England.

  4. I am sorry too. Hope not to be intrusive but, live in the sunshine. I have Graves disease and the sunshine seems to be good for autoimmune diseases.

Leave a Reply

